Triple the Treat

It was over a year ago that I spied this recipe online.

And earlier this month, when my husband needed to bring a pot luck item to an after-hours department party, I remembered this recipe. Thinking that it combined two of his favorite flavors – chocolate and peanut butter – and the fact that he wouldn’t have to worry about either refrigeration or reheating, this seemed a good fit.

It was. He brought home two pieces from the pan to share with our son and myself…which we quickly devoured.

Then last week, I had a book club meeting, and was assigned to bring the treat. My husband had a schedule conflict, so our son was off to spend an evening at his aunt’s house. I baked up another batch of these treats, and sent some with our son to share with his aunt, uncle, and cousins.

A heart-shaped plate for a heartfelt treat.

A heart-shaped plate for a heartfelt treat.

The rest of the batch was destined for the Book Club ladies.

The peanut butter frosting was very light in texture, and played up the crunch of the sea salt.

The peanut butter frosting was very light in texture, and played up the crunch of the sea salt.

Then the weather intervened. And the only attendees at Book Club that night were just myself and one other person. (Such is a prairie winter, some years.) We barely made a dent in the brownies, but my son brought home an empty and clean plate from his aunt’s house. The next morning, I loaded that plate up with the leftover brownies, and in to the office they came.

"Take Your Brownies to Work Day." Has a nice ring to it, if you ask me.

“Take Your Brownies to Work Day.” Has a nice ring to it, if you ask me.

Not counting the first pan made for a pot luck, that made for three treat opportunities from a single pan of brownies. Not a bad way to spend your calories, if you ask me.

One thought on “Triple the Treat

Leave a Reply

