The Color Purple

No, not the Alice Walker novel. Just the color.

Purple.

Our boy is enamored of the color purple. If there’s a purple shirt in his clean pile of clothes to wear, he will pick that one. Whenever we browse the paint chips displays at the local home improvement store, he’ll find the deepest, most saturated, so-vibrant-they-quiver shades of purple to run around the store with.

Now, I’ll be the first to admit: in that knee-jerk moment of a reaction to my child’s wish for a purple room, my first thought was, “that’s not an easy color to work with. What if he changes his mind? What if I put the color up on the wall and he hates it? What if he demands a purple so dark any future paint colors will be bleeding purple for all eternity?”

Then my second thought was, “heck. It’s only paint.”

It also won’t be the only color in the room, I promise you. I’m not one of those persons who subscribes to the belief that every single paintable surface must be a matching shade. Monochromes work in some spaces, but not in our house. I like it that way. There’s gray carpeting laid in the room already that will man-up the purple walls. The wood trim won’t be changing, either. And with whatever he decides between bedroom furniture sets, it will positively hum in happiness next to a chosen shade of purple.

So, armed with my fan deck of paint colors, I sat on the floor of the room-to-be and found some colors that seemed like the right sort of purple to work with what would not be changing in the room. I also walked the fan deck over to the Big Boy’s quilt that’s on his bed to make sure the spectrum of purples didn’t fight with the shades of purple called out in that plaid pattern. Then I called the local paint shop and ordered up samples. One was a lighter purple color…

I'm a big fan of painting sample swatches when I'm not sure about a color.

I’m a big fan of painting sample swatches when I’m not sure about a color.

And one was a much deeper purple-y purple:

Compared to the old color on the walls, it really jumped out!

Compared to the old color on the walls, it really jumped out!

When I asked our “client” if he had a color preference from what he saw on the walls, he very diplomatically spread his arms wide and declared “I love them all!”

Thanks, kid.

So, giving those colors time to grow on us and see how the light played on them at different times of the day, we took care of another one of those tasks that had to get done. Wall repair.

Note to anyone out there who thinks using push pins to hang art or get all decorative on a wall is minimally invasive: you are wrong. And evil.

Note to anyone out there who thinks using push pins to hang art or get all decorative on a wall is minimally invasive: you are wrong. And evil.

By the time this chore was out of the way, I figured out how I would work both the darker purple and lighter purple into the room. But first, we had to prime the walls. Paint the ceiling. And more…

Leave a Reply

