A Pop of Color in the Laundry Room

Like I mentioned yesterday, adding the thread organizer in a new hue was a nice introduction of subtle color to the laundry room. At the same time, I was impressed by how the shade of green in the room was a background color. Meaning there was no harm in adding a pop or two of color along the way. So I looked to the south wall for an opportunity to play with an idea that had been rolling around in my head.

As you can see in the photo above, there are a couple of round shapes in that area of the room already – the retractable clothes line, and the lid of the garbage can. I thought it would be fun to play with other round shapes there, and picked up a variety of sizes of wood embroidery hoops.

Hoop! There is is. (I couldn’t resist.)

And, after visiting a local fabric store, walked out with a selection of different prints.

The only other tools I needed to do this little project were a marker, scissors, and a bottle of Fray Check. Then it was a matter of tracing the outer edge of the hoop onto the fabric, cutting out circles, and applying Fray Check along the edges.

The Fray Check only needed about 15 minutes to dry, which on this particular Saturday meant I had enough time to run outside, check on how the paint was drying on the thread organizer, and come back in to finish this project.

From this point, it was a matter of carefully centering each fabric circle over the inner hoop and fitting the outer hoop snugly over. I deliberately did not want any fabric edge showing around the outside of the hoop. Clean lines to play up the pattern inside the hoop was my aim here.

 

Then it was a simple matter of determining where I wanted each pop of color on the wall, nailing in brads, and hanging them up. Done, right?

Who can tell me what’s wrong with this picture?

It didn’t feel right. The colors weren’t working well together as I thought they would. And, they kind of seemed a bit dwarfed on the wall. I knew I wanted to add more hoops; don’t ask me why, but for the span of six weeks there were no 3-inch embroidery hoops to be found within a 20-mile radius of home. But, something about the pattern mix of fabric. Then it hit me: I didn’t need that wide of a variety of prints. The intriguing truth here was, there was such a profusion of shapes and colors in the darker print that I wasn’t done playing with them. I held on to my remnant, bided my time, and as soon as the local craft store stocked more hoops I was back at the crafting to make more and swap out the lighter prints. The results? Much better.

THAT’S a pop of color.

The colors and shapes play beautifully together. And, I feel like there’s a whimsical sort of connection between the round shapes on that wall. The fact that it was an under-$20 kind of project didn’t hurt either. This was more of a form over function installation. There’s a couple more chapters to go here before we’ll call this room “done for now.” Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

