Sunday Stitchin’: Block and Tackle Edition

The last sleeve was finished yesterday morning! But we’re not done yet…

We’re blocking, we’re blocking…

Before this is wearable, I need to block the garment to help set the shape. The fiber is wool, so I prefer to lay it out and pin it down to the dimensions specified in the pattern, then fire up the garment steamer to set up the piece. After a day or two of air-drying, it should be ready to wear.

I kind of empathize with the Liliputs and all they did to restrain Gulliver during one of these projects.

Once the blocking is done, I’ve got one final decision to tackle: do I add a couple toggles to close the front, as the pattern directs, or leave it as an open cardigan? Pre-blocking, I’m definitely leaning towards open cardigan. But as I stretched this out to the blocking dimensions, I’m second-guessing myself. So, we’ll see…

 

Leave a Reply

