Sunday Stitchin’ – Groundhog Day Edition

So, here we are, 9 days into the month, and how far has this project come?

Not very, in my estimation. But it’s no one’s fault but my own.

You see, I have a bad habit of overthinking things. Which happened, in this instance, around Tuesday evening before the “Night of the Tomato Sauce Batch That Won’t End” launched. I questioned whether or not I had set up the button band the right way, and leaning towards the side of “not,” was ready to unravel what I had done and start over. The voice of reason over in the recliner advised I check my work with someone over at the knitting shop before doing that. And so I did, on minimal sleep thanks to that batch of tomato sauce that took me too far into Wednesday for my liking. The kind folks at the knitting shop looked it over, and didn’t see anything wrong with the button band. So on Wednesday evening I settled in to continue on to the next phase of the project only to realize I accidentally shorted myself one stitch when I cast on. Now, instead of unraveling half of the button band I was unraveling the whole thing and really starting over. And since I was starting over, what would the harm be in starting the second half of the button band with the second row instead of the first?

It looked better at first pass. But when I began picking up stitches to begin the shoulder, neckline and back expansion, it hit me: still wrong. Back to the starting row of the second half of the button band I went, all while channeling key lines from Phil Connors in the classic movie “Groundhog Day.”

So the actual expansion part – which I could have started on Wednesday – didn’t actually get underway until Saturday.

It may not look like much yet, but these are the beginnings of the sleeve and the shoulder seam.

Stitch by stitch, it’s coming together. Now I work in the hopes that, if I am going to get stuck on any part of this sweater, this was it. Another lesson learned: follow the instructions, even if they may not make sense at first pass. But the most important lesson? That this is supposed to be fun – and isn’t worth getting my mind tangled up in knots over.

So the mental movie mantra switches from the cynical Phil Connors of Groundhog Day to Dory in Finding Nemo (with apologies for the minor literary license taken here): just keep stitching, just keep stitching, just keep stitching…

Back with more next week!

One thought on “Sunday Stitchin’ – Groundhog Day Edition

  1. Pingback: Sunday Stitchin’ – Rocking my Dory Mantra « Little Martha on the Prairie

Leave a Reply

