Pie Update (or is it a Pi Update?)

I haven’t forgotten about this. Here’s a quick update on the Pi Day pie I baked for my husband to share at his office.

The first feedback I received came via legal counsel, who reported in an email to my husband that, (as a pecan pie connoisseur) she gave the pie a 4.5 out of 5 rating. I was docked points for not finding a way to add bourbon.

Then there was a comment left at the blog post, affirming the pie’s tastiness.

But then my husband came home without the pie plate, which had me worried for a moment that there was still pie to be rid of. It just turned out that he had forgotten the empty pie plate in his office. whew!

According to the stories my husband shared, there was at first confusion over the pie’s ingredients. People repeating “bacon?” a few times. And then there was a rogue pack of men who put tiny little slivers of pie on their plates, in case it wasn’t any good, before stealing back to their desks to sample the pies. And then returning for bigger slices of the pie with bacon.

There seemed to be a fair number of folks who thought the idea of adding bacon to pecan pie was a good one. Though my husband did a great job of describing how that salty fatness balanced out the earthiness of the nuts and the sweetness of the maple, it was also a lost opportunity to lecture on “Umami.” I suppose that’s a good thing in the long run, as I’d hate for that to be yet another reason he’d get roughed up in the parking lot after work. Which I suspect happens after a particularly long lunch lecture related to some obscure topic he knows a lot about.

But this is a keeper of a pie recipe, even if it didn’t call for bourbon. I’d make it again just to see my own mother lean forward in her seat while exclaiming, “you made what?!?”

One Comment Add yours

  1. beth salzl says:

    I also agree with the trusted legal counsel that bourbon to anything is better

Leave a Reply

