Letting my mind empty.

I did quite a bit today.

I would have liked to do more.

But I’m feeling pretty good about where I’m at right now. Which involves a cup of warm milk, a couple of cookies, and the following recipes for tomorrow completed or underway:

  • Cranberry Sauce
  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Stuffing
  • Turkey – had a nice soak in a brine, and is now sitting on a cooling rack positioned above a cookie sheet in the fridge. This step helps the skin dry out enough to enhance its’ crispiness while cooking tomorrow.

I’ve finalized the timing of when the bird should go in the oven, and when it needs to be done in order to cook the stuffing. (We don’t stuff the bird. We also start cooking the bird ass-end up and rotating it halfway through the cooking.)

I took care of some of those “no one else will notice but it will bother the heck out of me” cleaning tasks.

I’m still trying to figure out why I’ve been wide awake since 2 this morning. No clue. But the cats got quite the belly rubs and back scratches.

I really want to dive into bed right now. But there’s that DVR with some of my programs piling up that also beckons.

I smell like bacon. Which may be part of the reason why one of the cats keeps rubbing up against my elbow.

My feet are throbbing.

I miss our son; he’s spending the night with one set of grandparents, who will bring him home when they show up for dinner tomorrow.

I’ve got to start wearing my reading glasses more at home. Noticing the squinting a lot more.

I wonder what it costs to rent one of those portable hot tubs? And I wonder if they would deliver tomorrow?

That’s it for now. More tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

