CSA Lovin’: Kohlrabi

(Catching up a bit from the holiday weekend…so bear with me, here! Sorry, but no photos with this one; the camera’s focus wasn’t cooperating.)

In our CSA boxes we got some delicious strawberries, ears of gorgeous corn, and bunches of kohlrabi.

And the flashbacks began: a couple years back, my husband-who-volunteers-his-time-as-a-Master-Gardener planted kohlrabi in our home garden. And I didn’t have a clue what to do with it. We gave the stuff away, and my husband ate one, I think. It was a lost opportunity. Or so I thought…

I wasn’t wild about the taste of kohlrabi. Couldn’t put my finger on it, but something definitely tasted “not right” to me. I was determined to find something enjoyable to make and to eat.

My fingers and the computer’s search engine quickly led me to this delightful recipe from a 1992 issue of Gourmet Magazine:

Kohlrabi and Apple Salad with Creamy Mustard Dressing

  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon coarse-grained mustard
  • 3 tablespoons finely chopped fresh parsley leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon sugar
  • 2 bunches kohlrabi (about 2 pounds), bulbs peeled and cut into julienne strips, stems discarded, and the leaves reserved for another use
  • 1 Granny Smith apple (I substituted a Braeburn apple in this recipe)

In a bowl whisk the cream until it holds soft peaks and whisk in the lemon juice, the mustard, the parsley, the sugar, and salt and pepper to taste. Stir in the kohlrabi strips and the apple, peeled, cored, and diced, and combine the salad well.

Sweet. Fancy. Moses.

Light, cool and creamy, this made a wonderful side to perfectly-charred ribeyes off the grill. Just enough tang from the mustard to balance the crispness of the kohlrabi and a hint of sweet from the apples that had our 3-year-old picking them out of his plate and wolfing them down before returning to eat the kohlrabi bits. And since I get some joy out of ingredient prep, this didn’t feel like an arduous recipe to me (but if you hate julienne-ing, then this is definitely not the recipe for you).

I’ve learned that I can enjoy an unusual veggie. But heck, anything paired with heavy cream and a ribeye I think I could tolerate pretty well!

One thought on “CSA Lovin’: Kohlrabi

  1. Sarah, you did well, considering veggies are not one of your favorite things. wait while I dab the corners of my mouth. There much better. Dad

Leave a Reply

