In which I attempt to claw my way back onto the wagon.

Been a while, hasn’t it?

Well, it didn’t help getting sick after Thanksgiving (which went very well, by the way). While it was a setback of a couple of days, it was enough to keep me racing the rest of the year with this odd sense of never catching up with life in spite of my best efforts. Darn domino effect.

Yet the holidays came and went, the tail-end of the birthday bonanza that hits our family is coming up, and we’ve settled in to the newest definition of normal that we continuously refine. Truly! If this were a software program, we’d be on Normal 10.2.3.1.4. Or something like that.

(Speaking of software, that reminds me: Pi Day will be here before I know it! Any pie recipe suggestions? The husband’s department holds an annual Pi Day on March 14, at 1:59:26. Because they can. But I digress.)

So, while not writing a post for this blog hasn’t woken me up in the middle of the night, it has certainly made me pause over the past few weeks and think hard about whether or not this is something I want to continue to try and do. And, since we’ve already struck kind of a geeky note for this particular post, I might as well look for an answer in that bottomless well of misplaced prepositions, Yoda: “try not. Do or do not. There is no try…”

And I realized that it’s not that I see this as a chore. It’s not that I haven’t just finished a really interesting book I’d like to tell you about. Or that I didn’t take a leap in the kitchen last weekend that was lots of fun.

I like this. It leaves me with the sense that I can carve out about 15 minutes or even a half-hour in a day that’s pretty packed with just keepin’ on. (I know this for a fact, after compiling a pretty demoralizing spreadsheet of the utopian daily schedule that would leave room for that much-craved-after 8 hours of sleep.) This gives me the gift of time with my own thoughts, and the outside chance that I may find a crazy idea or two that isn’t that crazy after all.

I missed finding something to be grateful for on a day-to-day basis. There are days that are great, and it’s easy to find a daily gratitude, but there are also days where it takes a little work to do so. And that helps me appreciate the good things I can find in that day.

And so, I will do. Not try. And I hope you will too…

Leave a Reply

